Shopping Cart
Twelve Clay Birds

Twelve Clay Birds

Regular price ₱420.00

Mesándel Virtusio Arguelles' Twelve Clay Birds (Labindalawang Ibong Luwad) is a bilingual book of poetry translated into English by Kristine Ong Muslim. It consists of 43 poems extracted from seven of Arguelles' 22 poetry books published in the last two decades. 

"Arguelles' poetry is a result of his unique deconstructive processes: intensely curated erasures from a variety of primary texts. The final product, further amplified by translation, is a hyper-modern, radical poetry, minimalist in style and important not just for what it includes, but also for what it excludes. This excavation of public language offers a sudden tonality that's both sharp and delicate, an example of how metaphysics is hiding in plain sight, everywhere." 
—Ilya Kaminsky, Poetry Book Society citation for Three Books (2020)

This book is part of the Philippine Writers Series 2021.

University of the Philippines Press, Philippines


Softcover / 9 x 6 inches / 115 pages / BW

Filipino, English

ISBN: 978-971-542-969-6

Other Products in Literature