Shopping Cart
81 Years of Premio Zobel

81 Years of Premio Zobel

Regular price ₱550.00

Authored by Lourdes Castrillo Brillantes, this book chronicles the history of the Premio Zóbel, the oldest literary award in the Philippines founded by Don Enrique Zóbel de Ayala. With a mission to revitalize and celebrate the Spanish language in the country, the award has been a steadfast promoter of the best Filipino writing in Spanish over the last 80 years. 

This book serves as an ode to the awardees from 1922 to 2000 who embraced and embodied the Hispano-Filipino cultural heritage through their writings. Through brief biographies and excerpts from their award-winning works, readers gain insights into the diverse talents that have contributed to the legacy of the Premio Zóbel including Leon Ma. Guerrero, Luis Garchitorena, Rosalinda Orosa, Alejandro R. Roces, and more.

The book extends its focus beyond the accolades, examining the broader context of the role of the Spanish language in Philippine culture. It also touches on the life of the founder and the institutions that supported the award, specifically Casino Español and the Real Academia de la Lengua Española.

Lourdes Castrillo Brillantes is a regular member of the Academia Filipina de la Lengua Española correspondiente de la Real Academia Española. She was the Premio Zobel awardee of 1998. She taught Spanish at the Ateneo de Manila University and the University of the Philippines in Diliman.

Georgina Padilla y Zóbel and Filipinas Heritage Library, Philippines

Publication Date:

Softcover / 10 x 7 inches / 356 pages / BW

English, Spanish

ISBN: 978-971-85-5154-7

One copy only. Previously owned, otherwise in good condition.

Other Products in Literature